Home    |    News & Inspiration

Design Foundation Awards 2017

As the countdown to the end of 2017 begins, we would like to take a moment to reflect on the unbelievably exciting and rewarding year of lighting design we have had here at willowlamp.

The positive reception we’ve received for our 2018 lighting design collection thus far has surpassed our expectations and we are both thrilled and honoured to announce that we received the Design Foundation Object That Moves Award at the fifth annual awards ceremony, which took place on Saturday, 25 November at GUILD in Cape Town.

These awards recognise the design field’s top achievers in design,  including lighting design, manufacture, commercial success and innovation.

Adam Hoets received lighting design award


We would like to take this opportunity to thank the Design Foundation for recognising willowlamp amongst South Africa’s leading designers. We would also like to thank Krone, 100% Design South Africa, David Krynauw Ontwerp, M&C Saatchi Abel, Afrisign, Bronze Age Studio and Von Seidels for sponsoring each of the seven awards. We are grateful to have received free exhibition space at 100% Design South Africa and look forward to sharing our latest lighting design pieces at the show next year. Thank you to all those who supported us this year, without you we would not have been able to end 2017 on such a high note.

To all our clients, business associates and supporters, we wish you a wonderful festive season and a successful 2018.


Design awards, including lighting design awards

Read more about the awards here:

Creatives Celebrated At The 2017 Design Foundation Awards

Bold work by pioneering South African designers was honoured over the weekend at the fifth annual Design Foundation Awards held in Cape Town. The awards recognise the best talent emerging from our country. Read more on Huffington Post

The Design Foundation Awards 2017

The awards were a celebratory affair, held at Guild in Cape Town’s Silo District and the bubbly certainly flowed. One of the night’s big winners was Gregor Jenkin, who took home the Icon Award sponsored by Krone, having been the inaugural recipient of the award in 2012. Read more on Elle Decoration

The 2017 Design Foundation Awards winners
On Saturday 25 November, the fifth annual Design Foundation Awards took place, in which a total of seven accolades were given out to SA’s top local talents for categories encompassing design, manufacture, commercial success and innovation. Read more on House & Leisure

Winners: Design Foundation Awards 2017
Leaders of South African design were honoured at the fifth annual Design Foundation Awards held in Cape Town. The 2017 awards signal a fresh approach by the Design Foundation, formerly known as the Southern Guild Design Foundation. “With our independent think-tank board representing diverse industries, our aim is to have a foundation that supports the design industry at large – from grassroots and educational levels to manufacture, retail and export,” explains board member Trevyn McGowan. Read more in Visi